In my early twenties I spent some time in Bardstown, Kentucky, near the home of  the Makers Mark Kentucky Whiskey Distillery.  One of my most vivid memories was of the smell of sour mash.  In the humidity of the summer, even the apples on the trees tasted like bourbon.   I can’t say it was always pleasant, but it sure was memorable.

Fast forward to this fall when we were on our way to a Jazz Concert at  the LaQuinta Resort and wanted a quick but decent dinner before the concert.  Old Towne was right around the corner and upon our friends’  recommendation we gave The Grill on Main a try.   http://www.thegrillonmainlq.com/ 

From the parking lot the grill smells told us we were in for a treat.  We had no disappointments here!   The service was prompt and friendly, the setting was better than average and all our entries were deliciously prepared and beautifully presented. 

But the pièce de résistance  was the Bread Pudding with Makers Mark sauce.  OMG…it defied description and took me right back to my Bardstown memories. 

I’ve never been a big fan of bread pudding, but after my experience, I had to try to recreate it at home.  After an exhaustive search for a good bread pudding recipe with the correct accoutrement  I checked out the Makers Mark website in hopes of a recipe.   I’m convinced you won’t find a better one.  http://www.makersmark.com/#!/cook/desserts/47-apple-bourbon-bread-pudding-br-with-maker-s-mark-caramel

Just remember my mantra, don’t skimp or substitute on the basic ingredients.  This one is worth the effort.  And so is the Grill on Main Street, Old Towne, LaQuinta.